University of Missouri School of Medicine MU Health School of Medicine
28th Annual Medical Alumni Awards
Syed Arshad Husain, MD, Citation of Merit recipient, helps children in Pakistan.


58th Annual Medical Alumni Awards

The University of Missouri School of Medicine and Medical Alumni Organization will present their most prestigious awards to graduates and supporters on Thursday, April 16, 2015, at the Kansas City Club in Kansas City. The 58th Annual Medical Alumni Awards ceremony, dinner and reception will be held in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Missouri State Medical Association. The reception will begin at 6:30 p.m. and dinner will begin at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are available for purchase through the alumni office for $70 per person. For more information and to register, call 573-882-5021.


The 2015 award recipients are:

Citation of Merit

MU School of Medicine's highest honor, will be presented to Syed Arshad Husain, MD, professor emeritus of psychiatry and child health and a 1970 fellowship graduate of MU's psychiatry department. The MU child psychiatrist is internationally known for helping traumatized children in war zones and disaster areas across the globe.

Outstanding Young Physician Award

This award will be presented to Noah Hillman, MD, and Todd Schwedt, MD, both graduates of the MU School of Medicine Class of 2001. Hillman is associate professor of pediatrics in the Division of Neonatology at Saint Louis University. Schwedt is associate professor of neurology at the Mayo Clinic in Phoenix.

Distinguished Service Award

This award will be presented to Samuel Cullison, MD, Tammy Hart, MD, and Bert Park, MD. A graduate of the Class of 1975, Cullison is vice president for graduate medical education at Methodist Health System of Dallas. A graduate of the Class of 1990, Hart is a family medicine physician in Princeton, Mo. A graduate of the Class of 1973, Park is a retired surgeon who leads neurosurgery mission trips in Africa.

Honorary Medical Alumni

This award will be presented to Virginia Huxley, PhD, and Ramesh Khanna, MD. Huxley is J.O. Davis Professor of Cardiovascular Physiology and professor of medical pharmacology and physiology at MU's School of Medicine, as well as director of the National Center for Gender Physiology. Khanna is vice chair of the Department of Medicine and Karl D. Nolph Distinguished Chair in Nephrology at the MU School of Medicine, as well as medical director of MU’s Acute Dialysis Unit.


More On Alumni Awards

Printer Friendly Secure Secure        
Follow us on Twitter!   Facebook   YouTube Videos   Instagram   Pinterest  
Website created and maintained by the Office of Communications. Contact the MU School of Medicine.
Revised: January 08, 2014 - Copyright © 2014 - Curators of the University of Missouri. All rights reserved. DMCA and
other copyright information. An equal opportunity/access/affirmative action/pro-disabled and veteran employer.