University of Missouri School of Medicine MU Health School of Medicine
News Divider
Richelle Koopman
Richelle Koopman, MD, associate professor of family and community medicine at the MU School of Medicine, says it is time to redesign electronic health records to better meet the needs of physicians and to deliver the best care to patients.

Clinic Notes Should Be Re-Engineered to Meet Needs of Physicians

Better documentation tools can lead to more efficient, safer patient care

When physicians prepare for patient visits, one of their first steps is to review clinic notes or health records that recap their patients’ medical history. Since the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act of 2009, approximately 78 percent of office-based physicians have adopted electronic health records (EHR). However, previous research found only 38 percent of physicians were highly satisfied with the system, and many believe the way a patient’s health information is displayed in EHRs reduces the efficiency and productivity of patient care.

Now, in a new study, University of Missouri researchers say it is time to redesign EHR documentation tools to better meet the needs of physicians in order to deliver the best care to patients.

“While EHRs have granted physicians access to more information than ever before, they also include lots of extraneous information that does not contribute to the care of the patient,” said Richelle Koopman, MD, associate professor of family and community medicine at the MU School of Medicine.

Koopman and her colleagues watched primary care physicians navigate through EHRs when preparing for patient visits and asked them to highlight what parts of the notes they found most and least important. Physicians overwhelmingly found the “assessment” and “plan” sections of clinic notes to be the most important and usually reviewed those first, while the “review of systems” section, which is required by Medicare and Medicaid for billing purposes, to be the least valuable information for patient care.

“Most physicians we observed skipped right to the assessment and plan sections, which include the diagnoses of the patient from the last visit and notes on how physicians planned to address the diagnoses,” Koopman said. “In addition, physicians expressed a lot of frustration about the poor utility of the ‘review of systems’ section and said it had little value in addressing patient care.”

During the transition from paper charts to EHRs, the system’s creators mimicked the look of the paper chart, which already was difficult to navigate because of increasing federal and regulatory demands on required information.

Koopman says early EHR documentation that mimicked the paper records led to a lot of redundant and cluttered information presented in an outdated fashion. She suggests patient information become more organized to allow physicians to spend more time with their patients instead of scrambling through notes to find the most valuable information.

In addition, Koopman says her research supports the need to change the information needed for medical billing because a more streamlined way of presenting medical information can reduce medical errors that compromise patient safety.

In upcoming research, Koopman will work with Jeff Belden, MD, professor of family and community medicine at the MU School of Medicine, to discover the best way to organize patient information in clinical notes by using eye-tracking software to see how quickly physicians can find information using different clinical note prototypes they created.

Thomas Selva, MD, chief medical information officer for MU Health Care, noted that the University of Missouri and the Tiger Institute for Health Innovation are national leaders in the development of better documentation tools.

According to Selva, numerous leading-edge tools that will facilitate the changes Koopman’s research called for will be implemented at MU Health Care this year.

Koopman’s study, “Physician Information Needs and Electronic Health Records: Time to Reengineer the Clinic Note,” was published by the Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine and was funded by Mizzou Advantage, an initiative that fosters interdisciplinary collaboration among faculty, staff, students and external partners to solve real-world problems.

Click here for a high-resolution photo of Richelle Koopman, MD.

Posted August 31, 2015

MU Health Magazine


News and Events

Koopman Clinic Notes Should Be Re-Engineered to Meet Needs of Physicians
Better documentation tools can lead to more efficient, safer patient care

Altes named Radiology Chair Altes Named MU Radiology Chair
Altes excels in bench to bedside research, teaching and mentoring students, and clinical care

Protein Packed Breakfast Protein-Packed Breakfast Prevents Body Fat Gain in Overweight Teens
High-protein breakfast also improves teens’ glycemic control

White Coat Ceremony 2015 White Coat Ceremony Marks Start of Professional Journey for 104 Students
Students receive 'cloak of compassion' and pledge to uphold medicine's highest values

Eduardo Simoes, MD Tool Helps Public Health Agencies Prioritize Health Risks
Researcher works with Brazil to identify top risks for chronic diseases

Washington and Khosla U.S. South Asians More Reluctant to Seek Medication for Pain
Health care workers should be culturally aware when caring for patients, families

Segal Blood Vessels Can Actually Get Better With Age
Study finds that arteries adapt to oxidative stress caused by aging

Koopman Professor Awarded $2.2 Million Grant for Clear Blood Pressure Display
Goal is user-friendly information for better patient understanding

Scallan Impact of Type 2 Diabetes on Lymphatic Vessels Identified
Amino acid found in red meat, poultry may improve lymphatic function in diabetes

Springfield MU, CoxHealth, Mercy Address Critical Shortage of Physicians
Construction starts on new $42.5 million Patient-Centered Care Learning Center

Parrish Age-related self-destruction of cells makes kidney prone to injury
Researchers identify how the kidney cells’ self-destruct messages are spread

Staveley-O'Carroll Staveley-O’Carroll Named Surgery Chair, Cancer Center Director
Staveley-O’Carroll is accomplished physician-scientist

Mini Med High School Students get Hands-On Medical School Experience
MU School of Medicine hosts High School Mini Medical School

Media Relations
University of Missouri Health System
One Hospital Drive, DC028.00
Columbia, MO 65212
24/7 on-call pager: (573) 876-0708

Mary Jenkins
(573) 882-7299

Jeff Hoelscher
(573) 884-1608

Derek Thompson
(573) 882-3323

Diamond Dixon
(573) 884-7541

Justin Kelley (Photographer)
(573) 882-5786
Pager (573) 397-9289

Web Communications
University of Missouri Health System
One Hospital Drive, MA204G, DC018.00
Columbia, MO 65212
(573) 884-0298

Rich Gleba
(573) 884-0298

Laura Gerding, APR
(573) 882-9193

Velvet Hasner
(573) 884-1115

Justin Willett
(573) 884-7740

Printer Friendly
Follow us on Twitter!   Facebook   YouTube Videos   Instagram   Pinterest  
Website created and maintained by the Office of Communications. Contact the MU School of Medicine.
Revised: August 31, 2015 - Copyright © 2014 - Curators of the University of Missouri. All rights reserved. DMCA and other copyright information. An equal opportunity/access/affirmative action/pro-disabled and veteran employer.