University of Missouri School of Medicine MU Health School of Medicine
News Divider
Quality Improvement
The University of Missouri School of Medicine is one of five recipients to receive an Association of American Medical Colleges award for implementing innovative, system-wide processes that improve opportunities for research in quality improvement, health equity or electronic health records.

MU Receives AAMC Award for Innovation in Education and Research

Medical school is one of five recipients nationally

The University of Missouri School of Medicine is one of five recipients to receive a nationwide Learning Health System Challenge Award from the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

The award recognizes institutions that have implemented innovative, system-wide processes that improve opportunities for research in quality improvement, health equity or electronic health records. Other recipients include the University of Chicago, Massachusetts General Hospital, Emory University and Vanderbilt University.


Linda Headrick, MD, senior associate dean for medical education at the MU School of Medicine and professor of internal medicine, led MU's application, "Building Knowledge about Education in Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Through Interprofessional Education and Health System Partnerships." She cited the work of dozens of University of Missouri faculty and staff over more than a decade to advance the understanding of quality and safety education in the professional development of physicians.

In addition to Headrick, application team members included Les Hall, MD, interim dean of the medical school and professor of internal medicine; Carla Dyer, MD, associate professor of medicine; Kristin Hahn-Cover, MD, chief quality officer for MU Health Care and associate professor of internal medicine; Kimberly Hoffman, PhD, associate dean for learning strategies and associate research professor of family and community medicine; Julie Brandt, PhD, associate director of quality improvement for the University of Missouri; and Douglas Wakefield, PhD, director of MU's Center for Health Care Quality.

"This recognition would not be possible without the work of many people within the University of Missouri Health System, the MU Sinclair School of Nursing, the MU School of Health Professions and the University of Missouri-Kansas City satellite pharmacy program," Headrick said. "This award speaks to our collaborative efforts to improve the health of Missourians through exemplary education, innovative research and exceptional patient care."

Founded in 1876 and based in Washington, D.C., the Association of American Medical Colleges is a not-for-profit association representing all 141 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; nearly 400 major teaching hospitals and health systems, including 51 Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers; and 90 academic and scientific societies. Through these institutions and organizations, the AAMC represents 128,000 faculty members, 75,000 medical students and 110,000 resident physicians.

Click here to download a high resolution portrait of Headrick.

MU Health Magazine


News and Events

David Chang Grill with Caution
Wire bristles from barbecue brushes can cause serious injuries
Tahir Rahman Extreme Beliefs Often Mistaken for Insanity, New Study Finds
Researchers say new term offers more precise definition of non-psychotic behaviors
Paul Tatum Family Medicine Professor Wins Distinguished Physician Award
Tatum recognized for outstanding care of patients near the end of life
Seth Sherman Minimally Invasive Tendon Repair Technique Supports Knee Movement Sooner after Surgery
Researchers found suture anchors, a less-invasive repair technique, responded better to strength-testing after surgery
2016 Graduation MU School of Medicine Awards 86 Medical Degrees at Commencement Ceremony
The graduates will go on to receive additional training as resident physicians in their chosen specialties
Patrice Delafontaine MU School of Medicine Dean Inducted into Prestigious Medical Society
Delafontaine joins elite group of physicians in American Clinical and Climatological Association
Steven Zweig MU Family Medicine Ranked Among Nation’s Best by U.S. News & World Report
Department has been in top 10 for 23 consecutive years
Uzma Khan MU Initiative Helps Rural Doctors Treat Chronic Pain
Show-Me ECHO to offer special training session April 28
Legacy Teachers MU School of Medicine Program Expands to Other Medical Schools
MU’s Legacy Teachers program lets students recognize patients as educators
Susan Nagel Oil and Gas Wastewater Disposal May Increase Endocrine Disrupting Activity
Scientists draw conclusions after study at natural gas and oil extraction wastewater disposal facility
St. Baldricks 2016 Participants Go Bald for Childhood Cancer Research
Community donates more than $40,000 to the cause

Media Relations
University of Missouri Health System
One Hospital Drive, DC028.00
Columbia, MO 65212
24/7 on-call pager: (573) 876-0708

Mary Jenkins
(573) 882-7299

Jeff Hoelscher
(573) 884-1608

Derek Thompson
(573) 882-3323

Diamond Dixon
(573) 884-7541

Justin Kelley (Photographer)
(573) 882-5786
Pager (573) 397-9289

Web Communications
University of Missouri Health System
One Hospital Drive, MA204G, DC018.00
Columbia, MO 65212
(573) 884-0298

Jennifer Orford
(573) 882-0298

Deidra Ashley
(573) 884-3988

Jesslyn Chew
(573) 884-2891

Velvet Hasner
(573) 884-1115

Justin Willett
(573) 884-7740

Printer Friendly
Follow us on Twitter!   Facebook   YouTube Videos   Instagram   Pinterest  
Website created and maintained by the Office of Communications. Contact the MU School of Medicine.
Revised: January 03, 2014 - Copyright © 2014 - Curators of the University of Missouri. All rights reserved. DMCA and other copyright information. An equal opportunity/access/affirmative action/pro-disabled and veteran employer.