University of Missouri School of Medicine MU Health School of Medicine
News Divider
Rural Pipeline
MU's Rural Track Pipeline Program is expanding its Bryant Scholars Pre-Admissions Program to add an additional seven universities in Missouri for a total of 13 eligible institutions. The pipeline provides multiple opportunities for medical students to train and live in rural communities.

MU Program Offers More Opportunity for Undergrads Interested in Rural Medicine

Seven additional universities added to Bryant Scholars Program

The University of Missouri School of Medicine is expanding a program designed to train more physicians to practice in rural areas of Missouri.

Seven additional universities throughout the state have been added to the School of Medicine's Bryant Scholars Pre-Admissions Program, bringing the total number of eligible institutions to 13.

Starting in application year 2013-2014, students from the following schools will be eligible for the program: Missouri Western State University, St. Joseph; William Jewell College, Liberty; Missouri Southern State University, Joplin; Westminster College, Fulton; Northwest Missouri State University, Maryville; University of Missouri-St. Louis; and University of Missouri-Kansas City.

The Bryant Scholars Program began in 1995 as part of the Rural Track Pipeline Program at the MU School of Medicine.


"Students with rural backgrounds are more likely to practice in these underserved areas when compared to their classmates from urban areas," said Kathleen Quinn, PhD, acting associate dean for rural health and director of the MU Area Health Education Center. "Our Rural Track Program is uniquely positioned to support MU's rural mission and benefit interested students by helping train and prepare them for practice in rural communities."

The Bryant Scholars program is a cooperative effort between 13 Missouri colleges and universities and the MU School of Medicine. Through the program, eligible undergraduate college students are pre-admitted to medical school at MU. For pre-admission, undergraduate college students are required to achieve certain academic standards, demonstrate ongoing professional conduct and participate in required activities.

Additional schools that allow applications into the Bryant Scholars Program include Drury University and Missouri State University, Springfield; Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla; Southeast Missouri State University, Cape Girardeau; Truman State University, Kirksville; and the University of Missouri.

The program is named after Lester Bryant, MD, who created it to address the shortage of physicians in Missouri and served as dean of the MU School of Medicine from 1989 to 1998. For more information about the Bryant Scholars Program, please visit .

Click here to download a high resolution portrait of Quinn.

MU Health Magazine


News and Events

David Chang Grill with Caution
Wire bristles from barbecue brushes can cause serious injuries
Tahir Rahman Extreme Beliefs Often Mistaken for Insanity, New Study Finds
Researchers say new term offers more precise definition of non-psychotic behaviors
Paul Tatum Family Medicine Professor Wins Distinguished Physician Award
Tatum recognized for outstanding care of patients near the end of life
Seth Sherman Minimally Invasive Tendon Repair Technique Supports Knee Movement Sooner after Surgery
Researchers found suture anchors, a less-invasive repair technique, responded better to strength-testing after surgery
2016 Graduation MU School of Medicine Awards 86 Medical Degrees at Commencement Ceremony
The graduates will go on to receive additional training as resident physicians in their chosen specialties
Patrice Delafontaine MU School of Medicine Dean Inducted into Prestigious Medical Society
Delafontaine joins elite group of physicians in American Clinical and Climatological Association
Steven Zweig MU Family Medicine Ranked Among Nation’s Best by U.S. News & World Report
Department has been in top 10 for 23 consecutive years
Uzma Khan MU Initiative Helps Rural Doctors Treat Chronic Pain
Show-Me ECHO to offer special training session April 28
Legacy Teachers MU School of Medicine Program Expands to Other Medical Schools
MU’s Legacy Teachers program lets students recognize patients as educators
Susan Nagel Oil and Gas Wastewater Disposal May Increase Endocrine Disrupting Activity
Scientists draw conclusions after study at natural gas and oil extraction wastewater disposal facility
St. Baldricks 2016 Participants Go Bald for Childhood Cancer Research
Community donates more than $40,000 to the cause

Media Relations
University of Missouri Health System
One Hospital Drive, DC028.00
Columbia, MO 65212
24/7 on-call pager: (573) 876-0708

Mary Jenkins
(573) 882-7299

Jeff Hoelscher
(573) 884-1608

Derek Thompson
(573) 882-3323

Diamond Dixon
(573) 884-7541

Justin Kelley (Photographer)
(573) 882-5786
Pager (573) 397-9289

Web Communications
University of Missouri Health System
One Hospital Drive, MA204G, DC018.00
Columbia, MO 65212
(573) 884-0298

Jennifer Orford
(573) 882-0298

Deidra Ashley
(573) 884-3988

Jesslyn Chew
(573) 884-2891

Velvet Hasner
(573) 884-1115

Justin Willett
(573) 884-7740

Printer Friendly
Follow us on Twitter!   Facebook   YouTube Videos   Instagram   Pinterest  
Website created and maintained by the Office of Communications. Contact the MU School of Medicine.
Revised: January 03, 2014 - Copyright © 2014 - Curators of the University of Missouri. All rights reserved. DMCA and other copyright information. An equal opportunity/access/affirmative action/pro-disabled and veteran employer.