University of Missouri School of Medicine MU Health School of Medicine
News Divider
58th Annual Alumni Award winners
Eight recipients of the 58th Annual Medical Alumni Awards were honored during a reception and dinner at the Kansas City Club in conjunction with the Missouri State Medical Association’s annual conference. From left: Todd Scwhedt, MD '01, Thomas Cheek, MD '89, medical alumni organization president, Virginia Huxley, PhD, Patrice Delafontaine, MD, dean, Ramesh Khanna, MD, Sam Cullison, MD '75, Bert Park, MD '73, Tammy Hart, MD '90, Arshad Husain, MD Fellow '70, Noah Hillman, MD '01.

Eight Graduates and Supporters Receive 58th Annual Alumni Awards

Syed Arshad Husain presented with top honor

The University of Missouri School of Medicine presented its most prestigious awards to graduates and supporters April 16 in Kansas City. The award recipients were honored during a reception and dinner at the Kansas City Club in conjunction with the Missouri State Medical Association’s annual conference.

The School of Medicine’s highest honor - the Citation of Merit - was awarded to Syed Arshad Husain, MD, professor emeritus of psychiatry and child health and a 1970 fellowship graduate of MU’s psychiatry department. Husain is internationally known for helping traumatized children in war zones and disaster areas across the globe.

The Outstanding Young Physician Award is presented to distinguished alumni age 45 or younger. This year’s recipients were Noah Hillman, MD, associate professor of pediatrics in the Division of Neonatology at Saint Louis University and Todd Schwedt, MD, associate professor of neurology at the Mayo Clinic in Phoenix. Hillman and Schwedt are both graduates of MU School of Medicine class of 2001.

Alumni who have distinguished themselves through community service are recognized with the Distinguished Service Award. This year’s recipients were Samuel Cullison, MD, Tammy Hart, MD, and Bert Park, MD. Cullison is vice president of graduate medical education at Methodist Health System of Dallas and a graduate of the 1975 class. Hart, a 1990 graduate, is a family medicine physician in Princeton, Missouri. Park, a graduate of the Class of 1973, is a retired surgeon who leads neurosurgery mission trips in Africa.

Awarded to non-alumni, the Honorary Medical Alumni Award is given to supporters who have made special contributions to MU’s School of Medicine. This year two outstanding MU faculty members were recognized.

Virginia Huxley, PhD, is the J.O. Davis Professor of Cardiovascular Physiology and professor of medical pharmacology and physiology at MU’s School of Medicine, as well as director of the National Center for Gender Physiology.

Ramesh Khanna, MD, is vice chair of the Department of Medicine and Karl D. Nolph Distinguished Chair in Nephrology at the MU School of Medicine, as well as medical director of MU’s Acute Dialysis Unit.

Alumni are encouraged to contact the alumni office at (573) 882-5021 or to make nominations for the 59th annual alumni medical awards to be presented in 2015.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo of the award recipients
Click here to download a program from the 58th Annual Medical Alumni Awards ceremony.

Posted April 17, 2015

MU Health Magazine


News and Events

David Chang Grill with Caution
Wire bristles from barbecue brushes can cause serious injuries
Tahir Rahman Extreme Beliefs Often Mistaken for Insanity, New Study Finds
Researchers say new term offers more precise definition of non-psychotic behaviors
Paul Tatum Family Medicine Professor Wins Distinguished Physician Award
Tatum recognized for outstanding care of patients near the end of life
Seth Sherman Minimally Invasive Tendon Repair Technique Supports Knee Movement Sooner after Surgery
Researchers found suture anchors, a less-invasive repair technique, responded better to strength-testing after surgery
2016 Graduation MU School of Medicine Awards 86 Medical Degrees at Commencement Ceremony
The graduates will go on to receive additional training as resident physicians in their chosen specialties
Patrice Delafontaine MU School of Medicine Dean Inducted into Prestigious Medical Society
Delafontaine joins elite group of physicians in American Clinical and Climatological Association
Steven Zweig MU Family Medicine Ranked Among Nation’s Best by U.S. News & World Report
Department has been in top 10 for 23 consecutive years
Uzma Khan MU Initiative Helps Rural Doctors Treat Chronic Pain
Show-Me ECHO to offer special training session April 28
Legacy Teachers MU School of Medicine Program Expands to Other Medical Schools
MU’s Legacy Teachers program lets students recognize patients as educators
Susan Nagel Oil and Gas Wastewater Disposal May Increase Endocrine Disrupting Activity
Scientists draw conclusions after study at natural gas and oil extraction wastewater disposal facility
St. Baldricks 2016 Participants Go Bald for Childhood Cancer Research
Community donates more than $40,000 to the cause

Media Relations
University of Missouri Health System
One Hospital Drive, DC028.00
Columbia, MO 65212
24/7 on-call pager: (573) 876-0708

Mary Jenkins
(573) 882-7299

Jeff Hoelscher
(573) 884-1608

Derek Thompson
(573) 882-3323

Diamond Dixon
(573) 884-7541

Justin Kelley (Photographer)
(573) 882-5786
Pager (573) 397-9289

Web Communications
University of Missouri Health System
One Hospital Drive, MA204G, DC018.00
Columbia, MO 65212
(573) 884-0298

Jennifer Orford
(573) 882-0298

Deidra Ashley
(573) 884-3988

Jesslyn Chew
(573) 884-2891

Velvet Hasner
(573) 884-1115

Justin Willett
(573) 884-7740

Printer Friendly
Follow us on Twitter!   Facebook   YouTube Videos   Instagram   Pinterest  
Website created and maintained by the Office of Communications. Contact the MU School of Medicine.
Revised: April 20, 2015 - Copyright © 2014 - Curators of the University of Missouri. All rights reserved. DMCA and other copyright information. An equal opportunity/access/affirmative action/pro-disabled and veteran employer.