University of Missouri School of Medicine MU Health School of Medicine

News and Events

FraunfelderFraunfelder Joins MU School of Medicine as Chair of Ophthalmology
Frederick Fraunfelder, MD, has joined the University of Missouri School of Medicine as chair of the Department of Ophthalmology. Fraunfelder comes to MU from the Casey Eye Institute and Oregon Health & Science University in Portland, Oregon, where he served as a professor of ophthalmology and as the chief of the cornea, external disease and refractive surgery division.
Full Story
Columbia Daily Tribune
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Kansas City Star



Mohan Named Silver Fellow by National Ophthalmology Organization
Rajiv Mohan, PhD, a professor in the University of Missouri School of Medicine’s Department of Ophthalmology, has been named a 2014 Silver Fellow by the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) for his contributions to eye research, including nanomedicine therapies to treat corneal diseases. He will be honored at the 2014 ARVO annual meeting May 8 in Orlando, Fla. Full Story


Cowden-awardJohn Cowden, MD, chair and Roy E. Mason and Elizabeth Patee Mason Distinguished Professor of ophthalmology at MU, received a 20-year medallion for service in eye transplants from the Heartland Lions Eye Banks. The medallion was presented by Ron Walkenbach, PhD, eye bank executive director, at a ceremony March 11, 2013, in MU's Mason Eye Clinic. Heartland Lions Eye Banks is a division of the Missouri Lions Eye Research Foundation, a not-for-profit corporation with the mission to preserve and restore sight. The group operates throughout Missouri and in parts of Illinois and Kansas, providing tissue corneal transplants worldwide. Dr. Cowden was also a past recipient of the Golden Medallion Award for Lifetime Achievement from the Missouri Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons in 2006. 


Rajiv Mohan, PhD, received the Missouri Foundation for Medical Research Young Investigator Award for his corneal angiogenesis research. The work was presented at the Truman Veterans' Memorial Hospital Annual Research Day on April 29, 2010. The best poster selection was performed voting from scientists, veterans and attendees. (


Rajiv Mohan's, PhD cornea nanomedicine research was identified as "the newest and most innovative research" for the year 2010 by the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO). This research was featured in "Emerging Trends and Hot Topics" during its annual meeting in Fort Lauderdale, Florida from May 2 to May 6, 2010. A total of 6,716 abstracts were submitted this year for ARVO meeting.


Lixing Reneker, PhD, has been selected to serve as a member of the Anterior Eye Disease Study Section, beginning July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2016. This is a unique opportunity to contribute to the national biomedical research effort. Study sections review grant applications submitted to the NIH, make recommendations on these applications to the appropriate NIH national advisory council or board, and survey the status of research in their fields of science.

Icon Bioscience Appoints Ophthalmology Alum VP of Clinical Development

Wendy Yee Murahashi, MD has joined Icon Bioscience's clinical development program to explore new drug delivery technologies. More...

New Missouri Legislation Requires Early Eye Exams

Beginning July 1, all children in kindergarten or first grade entering Missouri schools for the first time are required to have a comprehensive eye exam. A pediatric ophthalmologist at Washington University School of Medicine says the bill forces pediatricians from their gatekeeper’s role. More...

Eye Doctors Provide Care to Haitian Earthquake Victims

University of Missouri Health Care ophthalmologists Jacob Brubaker, left, and James Fox travel to Haiti with New Reality International, a California-based charity, to provide eye care. More...

eyeSmart News

Eye Openers Newsletter


Printer Friendly Secure Secure        
Follow us on Twitter!   Facebook   YouTube Videos  
Website created and maintained by the Office of Communications. Contact the MU School of Medicine.
Revised: June 21, 2013 - Copyright © 2013 - The Curators of the University of Missouri.
All rights reserved. DMCA and other copyright information. An equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.