Fleming Appointed Chair-Elect of Nation’s Largest Medical Specialty Organization

David Fleming, MD, chair of the Department of Internal Medicine and director of the Center for Health Ethics at the University of Missouri School of Medicine, has been appointed chair-elect of the board of governors for the American College of Physicians (ACP) — the largest medical specialty organization in the United States. Fleming will serve as chair-elect for the 2010-2011 term before becoming chair for the 2011-2012 board year.

The ACP is a national organization of internists — physicians who specialize in the prevention, detection and treatment of illnesses in adults. The ACP board of governors is an advisory board to the board of regents, the ACP’s policy-making body. Fleming is an ACP fellow and has been a member of the ACP since 1980.

Fleming is a professor of internal medicine and health management and informatics, and he has been founding director of the MU Center for Health Ethics since it was established in 2001. He established the center after completing a research fellowship in primary care and clinical bioethics at the Center for Clinical Bioethics at Georgetown University. MU’s center has since developed a prominent state and national presence.

Fleming graduated from medical school, completed residency in internal medicine, and served as chief resident at MU. He then had a private practice and was medical director of a multispecialty community-based clinic in Moberly, Mo., while serving on MU’s clinical faculty. He subsequently also served as vice chair for MU’s Department of Internal Medicine, established and was medical director of the Woodrail Internal Medicine Clinic, and has served as a leader for student and resident education programs.

Fleming served as president of the Missouri Society of Internal Medicine from 1991 to 1992. He has been a member of the University of Missouri School of Medicine Foundation since 2000, serving as its president from 2004 to 2005. In 2008, students showed their appreciation for his mentorship by presenting him with the Outstanding Faculty Award. He received the Distinguished Service Award from MU’s medical school and alumni organization in 2009.