MU Receives AAMC Award for Innovation in Education and Research

The University of Missouri School of Medicine is one of five recipients to receive a nationwide Learning Health System Challenge Award from the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

The award recognizes institutions that have implemented innovative, system-wide processes that improve opportunities for research in quality improvement, health equity or electronic health records. Other recipients include the University of Chicago, Massachusetts General Hospital, Emory University and Vanderbilt University.

In addition to Headrick, application team members included Les Hall, MD, interim dean of the medical school and professor of internal medicine; Carla Dyer, MD, associate professor of medicine; Kristin Hahn-Cover, MD, chief quality officer for MU Health Care and associate professor of internal medicine; Kimberly Hoffman, PhD, associate dean for learning strategies and associate research professor of family and community medicine; Julie Brandt, PhD, associate director of quality improvement for the University of Missouri; and Douglas Wakefield, PhD, director of MU’s Center for Health Care Quality.Linda Headrick, MD, senior associate dean for medical education at the MU School of Medicine and professor of internal medicine, led MU’s application, “Building Knowledge about Education in Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Through Interprofessional Education and Health System Partnerships.” She cited the work of dozens of University of Missouri faculty and staff over more than a decade to advance the understanding of quality and safety education in the professional development of physicians.

“This recognition would not be possible without the work of many people within the University of Missouri Health System, the MU Sinclair School of Nursing, the MU School of Health Professions and the University of Missouri-Kansas City satellite pharmacy program,” Headrick said. “This award speaks to our collaborative efforts to improve the health of Missourians through exemplary education, innovative research and exceptional patient care.”

Founded in 1876 and based in Washington, D.C., the Association of American Medical Colleges is a not-for-profit association representing all 141 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; nearly 400 major teaching hospitals and health systems, including 51 Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers; and 90 academic and scientific societies. Through these institutions and organizations, the AAMC represents 128,000 faculty members, 75,000 medical students and 110,000 resident physicians.