MU School of Medicine Dean Named Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Photo of Patrick Delafontaine, MD

Patrick Delafontaine, MD, the Hugh E. and Sarah D. Stephenson Dean of the MU School of Medicine, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Delafontaine was named as an AAAS Fellow in the Section on Medical Sciences for his distinguished contributions to the field of IGF-1 atherosclerosis and the role of angiotension II in skeletal muscle atrophy. This year’s AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Nov. 24, 2017.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association’s 24 sections or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution) or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected.

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The AAAS Council is the policymaking body of the AAAS, chaired by the AAAS president and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.