Department of Neurology Launching New Fellowships

Sahota in lab
Pradeep Sahota, MD, chair of the Department of Neurology.

The University of Missouri School of Medicine’s Department of Neurology has added new fellowships in 2019.

The new fellowships are:

  • An Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) fellowship in vascular neurology
  • An ACGME-accredited endovascular surgical neuroradiology fellowship 

The new fellowships complement the department’s existing fellowship in sleep medicine, overseen by Pradeep Sahota, MD, director of the Sleep Disorders Center and chair of the Department of Neurology

“These additional positions prove the MU Department of Neurology is committed to providing the best care to patients, the best educational opportunities for trainees at all levels and the best science for saving and improving lives,” Sahota said.

N. Scott Litofsky, MD
N. Scott Litofsky, MD

The endovascular surgical neuroradiology fellowship will be jointly shared with the Department of Radiology and Division of Neurological Surgery. 

“The new fellowships will expand access to care for more MU Health Care patients while training the next generation of physicians in highly specialized fields,” said N. Scott Litofsky, MD, chief of neurosurgery.

Talissa Altes, MD
Talissa Altes, MD

“We pride ourselves on building a strong physician pipeline for the state of Missouri that will benefit patients for years to come,” said Talissa Altes, MD, chair of the Department of Radiology.

The new fellows started on July 1.