Legacy Teachers Program to Hold Virtual Celebration

Legacy Teachers program students
Not pictured: Tyler Casey, Samantha Dyroff, Nicole Formhals, Catherine Gloss, Sara Hooshmand, Nicole "Nikki" Kagan, Dayeong Lee, Lauren Lester, Natalie Miller, Kay Min, Natalie Rodriguez, Adam Rosenfeld, Austin Sanders, James Stannard, Kristen Warncke

This year, the MU School of Medicine’s Legacy Teachers™ program will hold its 16th annual celebration virtually due to COVID-19 safety precautions. The celebration will honor legacy teachers nominated by students from both the Springfield and Columbia campuses.

The Legacy Teachers program offers third-year medical students the opportunity to submit essays, artwork or poetry describing a patient they recognize as one of their greatest teachers. The Legacy Teachers luncheons scheduled in Columbia and Springfield were canceled last year because of the COVID-19 outbreak. This will be the third year for students to honor legacy teachers at the Springfield Clinical Campus.

“Legacy Teachers have a lasting impact on our students and make them better physicians and people,” said Betsy Garrett, MD, professor emerita in the Department of Family and Community Medicine and director of the Legacy Teachers program. “Past Legacy Teachers and their families were truly honored and touched by the recognition these students made possible.”

More information will be shared as plans for the celebration are finalized. Students can still nominate patients as 2021 Legacy Teachers until Feb 3, 2021.