School of Medicine Honors Outstanding Staff Members

SAC Awards

The University of Missouri School of Medicine Staff Advisory Committee held a ceremony to recognize top staff members on May 29 at the Patient-Centered Care Learning Center (PCCLC).

The Outstanding Staff Award: Gina Silvey was honored for her work as a leader in the Department of Family and Community Medicine residency program. Silvey promotes growth in her employees, encourages healthy work habits and is open to making improvements for her team.

The following nominees were recognized:

  • Brittany Stone, ACNP, Department of Surgery
  • Robert “Marty” Runyon, outreach education coordinator, Shelden Clinical Simulation Center
  • Suzanne Neff, office manager, Office of Medical Education

The Excellence in Teamwork Award: The Family and Community Medicine ACCESS Team, including research specialists Christina Merrick and Megan Mooney, was honored for working with hospice teams and caregivers in rural areas to give cancer patients the chance to participate in federally funded research.

The following nominees were recognized:

  • ATLAS: Rob Ingram, Travis Masten, Andy Smith, Margaret Arredondo, Drew Yochum, Michael Haynes, and Milo Bennett
  • Family and Community Medicine Clerkship: Tammy Ellebracht and Kody Guest

Special Thanks and Recognition (STAR) Awards: The following people were honored for going beyond their specific job duties:

  • Sheila Holder, business support specialist, OB/GYN
  • Angie Mabe, credentialing coordinator and payroll specialist, Department of Psychiatry
  • Sheila Marushak, program director for the Rural Scholars Program
  • Kaitlyn Salamone, medical education program coordinator
  • Michelle Seithel, physician assistant, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • Jessica Schuster, business support specialist II, Rural Scholars Program
  • Gina Silvey, trainer of administrators of graduate medical education, Department of Family and Community Medicine
  • Andy Smith, ATLAS
  • Debbie Taylor, senior coordinator for research, dean’s office

The Staff Advisory Committee was formed in 2012. It serves as a communication link between School of Medicine leaders and employees and participates in strategic planning to help provide opportunities for professional growth.

View Photo Gallery