Stevermer Honored with Hickman Award at Education Day

Michael Hosokawa, EdD and James Stevermer, MD
Michael Hosokawa, EdD and James Stevermer, MD

James Stevermer, MD, won the highest honor in medical education bestowed by the University of Missouri — the Jane Hickman Teaching Award — during the School of Medicine’s annual Education Day on Oct. 7.

Stevermer is medical director of Callaway Physicians, a residency training site in Fulton, Missouri. He is also the medical director of the Mid-Missouri Area Health Education Center, which oversees rural training for University of Missouri medical students. He is also vice chair for clinical affairs and professor of clinical family and community medicine at the MU School of Medicine.

“Dr. Stevermer’s academic accomplishments and values resulted in his membership in the U.S. Preventive Service Task Force, a task force of some of the best minds in medicine who determine, study and recommend the current and future practice of medicine,” said senior associate dean of education and faculty development Michael Hosokawa, EdD, the chairman of the Hickman Award committee.

Each year, faculty and administrators are invited to nominate a faculty member who has made sustained and outstanding contributions to medical student education. Stevermer was described by a nominator as “a consistent model of a physician who is able to elevate and educate everyone he comes into contact with. … His impact on his patients and students is immense, and he has transformed and improved the lives and careers of many.”

Stevermer also has had a strong influence in the Rural Scholars program and has been a significant residency faculty member for Family Medicine residents at the Callaway Family Medicine Clinic in Fulton, Missouri. He was applauded for demonstrating the essence of the Jane Hickman Teaching Award through his commitment to patients, students, residents, fellow physicians and other members of the health care team.

Four physicians who work with Springfield Clinical Campus students received awards. Rex Taber, MD, received the Morton Clinical Teacher Award. Minh-Thu Le, MD, and Diane Lipscomb, MD, were awarded the Outstanding Clerkship Curriculum Innovation: Child Health Award. Karthik Vadamalai won the Outstanding Clinical Educator Award. The awards were presented in Springfield by David Haustein, MD, the associate dean of the Springfield Clinical Campus.

Here are the other 2021 Education Day faculty award winners.

Curriculum Board Excellence in Teaching Awards

David and Kathy Morton Outstanding Faculty Educator Award

  • Pre-Clinical Teacher Award: Charles Abromovich, MD
  • Clinical Teacher Award: Donald Doll, MD

Outstanding Service

In Appreciation for Outstanding Service: Stephen Colbert, MD

In Appreciation for Outstanding Service: Celso Velazquez, MD