Faculty members in MU Family and Community Medicine have many accomplishments.


American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Thomas W. Johnson Award

  • Elizabeth Garrett, MD, MSPH (2012)

AAFP/AFMRD Nikitas J. Zervanos Outstanding Residency Program Director

  • Erika Ringdahl, MD (2015)

AAFP/Bristol Myers Squibb Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education

  • Elizabeth A. Garrett, MD, MSPH(1981)
  • James Stevermer, MD, MSPH (1994)
  • Erik Lindbloom, MD, MSPH (1996)
  • Karli Urban, MD (2011)
  • Emily Doucette, MD (2013)

Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) Arnold P Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

  • Coleen Kivlahan, MD, MSPH (2001)

Hastings Center Cunniff-Dixon Mid-Career Physician Award

  • Paul Tatum, MD, MSPH (2016)

Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program for Women

  • Richelle Koopman, MD, MS (2017)

National Academy of Medicine Members (formerly IOM)

  • Jerry Perkoff, MD (deceased)
  • Jack Colwill, MD
  • Michael LeFevre, MD, MSPH

New York State Academy of Family Physicians Max Cheplove, MD Award

  • Jack Colwill, MD (2002)
  • Elizabeth Garrett, MD, MSPH (2009)
  • Michael LeFevre, MD, MSPH (2016)

North American Primary Care Research Group (NAPCRG)

Distinguished Mentor Award

  • David Mehr, MD, MS (2019)

President’s Award

  • Richelle Koopman, MD, MS (2019)

Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM)

STFM F. Marion Bishop Leadership Award

  • Jack Colwill, MD (2002)

STFM New Faculty Scholar Award Winners

  • Laura Morris, MD, MSPH (2012)
  • Amanda Swenson, MD, MSPH (2012)

STFM Recognition Award (2010)

  • Elizabeth Garrett, MD, MSPH

MU Chancellor’s Committee Tribute to MU Women Award

  • Elizabeth Garrett, MD, MSPH (2009)
  • Richelle Koopman, MD, MS (2017)

MU Faculty Alumni Award Winners

  • Margaret Flynn, PhD (deceased)
  • Jack Colwill, MD
  • Mike Hosokawa, EdD
  • Robin Blake, MD
  • Harold Williamson, MD, MSPH
  • Michael LeFevre, MD, MSPH
  • Steven Zweig, MD, MSPH
  • Richelle Koopman, MD, MS

MU Retiree of the Year

  • Robin Blake, MD (2012)

MU School of Medicine/Medical Alumni Organization Citation of Merit

  • Michael LeFevre, MD, MSPH (2013)

MU School of Medicine/Medical Alumni Organization Distinguished Service

  • Debra Howenstine, MD (2016)

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Award

  • Debra Howenstine, MD (2004)


AAFP Commission on Health of the Public and Science

  • James Stevermer, MD, MSPH (current member)

AAFP Commission on Governmental Advocacy

  • Peter Koopman, MD (current member)

AAFP Vaccine Science Fellow

  • Laura Morris, MD, MSPH (past fellow)

American Board of Family Medicine Board (ABFM)

  • Jack Colwill, MD (past member)
  • Elizabeth Garrett, MD, MSPH (past member)

Association of Departments of Family Medicine (ADFM)

  • Harold Williamson, MD, MSPH (past president)
  • Steven C. Zweig, MD (president)

Missouri Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP)

  • Elizabeth Garrett, MD, MSPH (past president)
  • Peter Koopman, MD (past president)

Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM)

  • Jack Colwill, MD (past president)
  • Elizabeth A. Garrett, MD, MSPH (past president)

US Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)

  • Michael LeFevre, MD, MSPH (former member and chair)


Associate Dean for Education Improvement, School of Medicine

  • Kevin Kane, MD, MSPH

Sr Associate Dean of Education and Faculty Development, School of Medicine

  • Mike Hosokawa, EdD

Medical Director of Population Health, MU Health Care

  • Michael L. LeFevre, MD

Medical Education Director of MU-Area Health Education Centers

  • James Stevermer, MD, MSPH


Founded in 1902, AOA is a national honor medical society established to recognize and perpetuate excellence in the medical profession. AOA elects outstanding junior and senior medical students, graduates, and honorary persons for membership. More than 20 current MU Family Medicine faculty and residents have earned AOA membership.


  • Robin Blake, MD
  • Jack Colwill, MD
  • Benjamin Crenshaw, MD
  • Krystal Foster, MD
  • Kevin Frazer, MD
  • Elizabeth A. Garrett, MD
  • Debra Howenstine, MD
  • Michael L. LeFevre, MD
  • Nicholas LeFevre
  • Whitney Beck LeFevre
  • Erik Lindbloom, MD, MSPH
  • Colin McDonald, MD
  • Natalie Long, MD
  • Laura Morris, MD, MSPH
  • Erika N. Ringdahl, MD
  • James Stevermer, MD, MSPH
  • Sarah Swofford, MD, MSPH
  • Alex Zweig, MD
  • Steven C. Zweig, MD


  • Paige Beauparlant
  • Brent Dudenhoeffer
  • Cheyenne Dudenhoeffer
  • Samuel Holt McNair
  • Danielle Poivre, MD


Family Medicine faculty members are outstanding teachers and mentors whose efforts are consistently recognized with awards and honors from students and colleagues at the School of Medicine. The Jane Hickman Award, the highest recognition for teaching excellence in MU’s School of Medicine, was created in 1991. Since then, seven MU Family Medicine faculty members have been chosen for this outstanding honor.

  • Elizabeth Garrett, MD, MSPH (1994)
  • Robert L. Blake, Jr., MD (1997)
  • Steven C. Zweig, MD, MSPH (2004)
  • Michael C. Hosokawa, EdD (2007)
  • James Campbell, PhD (2011)
  • Debra Howenstine, MD (2012)
  • Kevin Kane, MD, MSPH (2016)


The Dorsett L. Spurgeon, MD, Distinguished Medical Research Award

Recognizing outstanding achievements by MU medical school faculty in the early stages of their careers. In addition to receiving a cash prize, Spurgeon Award recipients deliver the keynote address at a ceremony held on Health Sciences Research Day. MU Family and Community Medicine Spurgeon Award winners:

  • Erik Lindbloom, MD, MSPH (2005)
  • Kevin Everett, PhD, (2006)
  • Joseph LeMaster, MD, MPH (2007)
  • Richelle Koopman, MD, MS (2010)
  • Karla Washington, PhD, LCSW (2017)

Excellence in Junior Faculty Research Mentoring Award,
University of Missouri Health Sciences Research Day

  • David Mehr, MD, MS (2017)

Leaders in Indigenous Medical Education

Excellence in Indigenous Health Research Award

  • Melissa Lewis, PhD (2017)

North American Primary Care Research Group (NAPCRG)
Dr. Barbara Starfield Award

  • Sonal Patil, MD (2015)

PATIENT CARE: Best Doctors in America® (2019)

The “Best Doctors” list is one of the most prestigious and credible tools available to consumers for selecting a doctor. Only four percent of all U.S. doctors are selected by their peers for this honor.

  • Kevin Craig, MD, MSPH
  • David Cravens, MD, MSPH
  • Benjamin Crenshaw, MD
  • Anne Fitzsimmons, MD
  • Seth Freeman, MD
  • Peter Koopman, MD
  • Richelle Koopman, MD, MS
  • Michael L. LeFevre, MD
  • Erik Lindbloom, MD, MSPH
  • David R. Mehr, MD
  • Carin E. Reust, MD
  • Erika N. Ringdahl, MD
  • Jacqueline Ruplinger, MD
  • Casey Williams, MD, MSPH
  • Lynn Wung, MD, MSPH
  • Steven C. Zweig, MD