School of Medicine announces establishment of Craniofacial Research Center

The MU School of Medicine is pleased to announce the establishment of the Craniofacial Research Center (CFRC). Craniofacial disorders affect millions of individuals worldwide and many of these problems are poorly understood and difficult to treat. The center’s mission is to expand craniofacial research with an emphasis on translational and precision medicine approaches that improve patient care. Training the next generation of craniofacial researchers and expanding global collaborations are high priorities.

Richard J. Sherwood, PhD, professor and vice-chair of research in the Department of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences, has been named the center’s director. Dr. Sherwood’s research in craniofacial morphology, growth and development is funded through the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. Other founding members include Kristina Aldridge, PhD, an expert in craniofacial anomalies and neurodevelopmental disorders, and Arshad Muzaffar, MD, a dedicated clinician-scientist with a specialty in pediatric craniofacial surgery.

The CFRC is poised to rigorously address the critical issues facing patients with craniofacial disorders and profoundly impact delivery of care.

Pathology & Anatomical Sciences announces Curriculum Board award winners


Shellaine Frazier, DO
Shellaine Frazier, DO

The Pathology Department proudly announces the Curriculum Board award winners.

Allison Nesbitt
Allison Nesbitt

Dr Shellaine Frazier has won the second-highest award the Board gives, receiving the “Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award, Citation of Merit”.

Dr Allison Nesbitt has won both the Curriculum Board Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award for Outstanding Pre-Clerkship Faculty Educator and the David and Kathy Morton Outstanding Faculty Educator Award.


American Society of Clinical Oncology Quality Care Symposium Poster to be Presented October 9-10

ASCO QCS poster 2020
Click here for a larger version


Dr. Cheryl Hill
Dr. Cheryl Hill, PhD

Dr. Hill wins 2019 Provost Outstanding Junior Faculty Teaching Award

Dr. Cheryl Hill has been selected as one of the recipients of the 2019 Provost Outstanding Junior Faculty Teaching Award. The purpose of this award is to recognize junior faculty for superior teaching and advising on the MU campus. Dr. Hill is an Assistant Professor within our Anatomy Division and has been with the Department for 4 years.

Congratulations Dr. Hill!


Kelly Bowers MD wins Category II Clinical First Place

Kelly Bowers with her winning poster

Category II Clinical First Place - Kelly Bowers, MD, resident physician, mentored by Richard Hammer, MD, associate professor of clinical pathology, for the research project, "Geospatial Analysis of Risk Factors in Myeloid Leukemias with Monocytic Differentiation".

Read More


Dr. Hammer Presents at Roche Town Hall

Richard Hammer photo

Richard Hammer, MD, Department of Pathology and Anatomical Sciences, recently spoke with Jack Phillips, North American Chief Executive Officer of Roche Diagnostics Corp. Dr. Hammer was invited to the Roche town hall in Indianapolis to discuss the implementation of the Navify tumor board solution.

Read more


Department holds annual celebration dinner

The Department held its annual celebration dinner on Friday, May 4, recognizing many accomplishments throughout the academic year.  
The graduate student accomplishments are a reflection of the strong program and dedication of our students:
13 peer-reviewed publications, 6 with the student as 1st author
38 National/International conference presentations, 20 with the student as 1st author
24 Local/Regional conference presentations
12 competitive awards, including 3 federal awards
Olha Kholod received the MU Distinguished Master’s Thesis Award and the Edmund S. Muskie Internship from the U.S. Department of State; Hailong Song received the Valerie J. Goodin Global Tiger Alumni Scholarship; Spiro Sullivan’s NSF Graduate Research Fellowship application received Honorable Mention and Melanie Boeyer received an NIH F31 grant, which is an NRSA Individual Pre-doctoral Fellowship.
Along with the above awards, Outstanding Graduate Student in Research went to Hailong Song and Melanie Boeyer; Outstanding Graduate Student in Teaching went to Sean Greer and Outstanding Graduate Student in Outreach went to Sarah Peacock and Melanie Boeyer.


Integrative faculty and Dr. Ward receive awards

February 8, 2017: The Integrative Anatomy Faculty were awarded the SOM Preclerkship Innovation Award and Dr. Carol Ward received a SOM Curriculum Board Teaching Excellence Award.


Dr. Ward named Fellow of the American Association of Anatomists

In March 2018, Dr. Carol Ward was named Fellow of the American Association of Anatomists