The Department of Pathology originally established the biorepository in 2006 under the leadership of Dr. Lynda Bennett. It was called the Pathology & Anatomical Sciences Tissue Bank and it started with fresh tissue collections for a few School of Medicine investigators. In 2009, Dr. Bennett left the institution and collections were discontinued, however, the specimens were kept in liquid nitrogen and monitored by the pathology department. In 2013, Dr. Gerald Arthur assumed the Medical Director position and Jennifer Schnabel began as the manager. At that time, the name changed to Mizzou OneHealth Biorepository to promote one repository for both animal and human tissue collected for biomedical research. By 2014, the biorepository expanded into a service lab. In 2016, Dr. Lester Layfield assumed the Medical Director position until 2018. Since then, Dr. David Pittman has led the Mizzou OneHealth Biorepository as the Medical Director. In 2020, the biorepository became a part of the School of Medicine under the Dean's Office.

For more detailed information please visit Mizzou OneHealth Biorepository.